Public Inquiry

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Ongoing · Chair: Sir John Mitting · Established July 2015

Statutory inquiry examining undercover police operations conducted by English and Welsh police forces since 1968, focusing on the Special Demonstration Squad (SDS) and National Public Order Intelligence Unit (NPOIU).

More about this inquiry

Statutory inquiry examining undercover police operations conducted by English and Welsh police forces since 1968, focusing on the Special Demonstration Squad (SDS) and National Public Order Intelligence Unit (NPOIU). Tranche 1 interim report published 29 June 2023 (covering 1968–1982). Tranche 3 Phase 2 hearings started 2 February 2026. Final report not expected before 2028.

Where it stands

Public hearings have been held on 190 days, most recently on 21 September 2026.

Undercover Policing Inquiry: Tranche 1 Interim Report was published on 29 June 2023.

Reports

Reports and timeline

Recent milestones

  • Home Office consultation on the Inquiry's future16 July 2026
  • Tranche 3 Phase 1 Hearings13 October 2025
  • Tranche 2 Phase 2 Hearings14 October 2024
Full timeline

Costs

£144,597,900

Total reported cost to June 2026 Costs in detail

Parliament

38

mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activity

Reports and timeline

Reports

Timeline

Inquiry Announced

Home Secretary Theresa May announced a public inquiry into undercover policing.

Chair Appointed

Source

Terms of Reference Set

Source

First preliminary hearing

Source

New Chair Appointed

Source

Tranche 1 Hearings Begin

Evidence hearings commence examining deployments from 1968-1982.

Source

Tranche 1 Interim Report

Interim report published on Tranche 1 Phase 1 (1968-1982).

Source

Tranche 2 Phase 1 Hearings

Evidence hearings for Tranche 2 Phase 1 ran July-August 2024.

Show all 11 milestones

Tranche 2 Phase 2 Hearings

Tranche 2 Phase 2 hearings began October 2024, running to February 2025.

Tranche 3 Phase 1 Hearings

Tranche 3 hearings examining SDS deployments 1993-2007, running October-December 2025.

Source

Home Office consultation on the Inquiry's future

Source

Costs

Total reported cost: £144,597,900
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Jun 2026 (cum.) £144,597,900 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry-published total expenditure to end June 2026; not final costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 16 Jul 2015 to 30 Jun 2026.

Inquiry-published total expenditure to end June 2026; not final costs

Mar 2026 (cum.) £137,067,000 £64,040,300 £23,284,000

Cumulative expenditure to end March 2026

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 16 Jul 2015 to 31 Mar 2026.

Updated from £120.6m (Sep 2025). Tranche 3 Phase 2 hearings ongoing. Final report not expected before 2028. Funded by Home Office. Figures rounded to nearest £100.

Cumulative expenditure to end March 2026

16 Jul 2015 – 30 Jun 2026 · Inquiry-published total expenditure to end June 2026; not final costs

Inquiry-published total expenditure to end June 2026; not final costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 16 Jul 2015 to 30 Jun 2026.

Inquiry-published total expenditure to end June 2026; not final costs

Detailed cost breakdown · to Mar 2026
Inquiry legal costs
£64,040,300
Core participant legal costs
£23,284,000
Staff
£27,931,400
Other
£21,811,300

Updated from £120.6m (Sep 2025). Tranche 3 Phase 2 hearings ongoing. Final report not expected before 2028. Funded by Home Office. Figures rounded to nearest £100.

Parliamentary activity

38 mentions since May 2016
1 debate 29 questions 4 statements

Police: Inquiries

Written Question House of Lords Baroness Hamwee · Liberal Democrat

Asked: To ask His Majesty's Government whether they are considering converting the undercover policing inquiry from a statutory inquiry to a non-statutory inquiry; and if so, what relevance they consider the Public Office (Accountability) Bill to have to that co

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Lords Baroness Hamwee · Liberal Democrat

Asked: To ask His Majesty's Government what assessment they have made of whether the Public Office (Accountability) Bill will have an impact on the potential conversion of the Undercover Policing Inquiry from a statutory inquiry to a non-statutory inquiry.

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Early Day Motion House of Commons Nadia Whittome · Labour

Said: That this House expresses its grave concern at the mounting evidence emerging from the Undercover Policing Inquiry (UCPI) of extremely serious police misconduct and corruption on a scale far outstripping expectations at the Inquiry’s inception; welcomes the numerous apologies issued by the Metropolitan Police Service …

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Lords Lord Spellar · Labour

Asked: To ask His Majesty's Government what has been the total cost to date of the Undercover Policing Inquiry; and how much has been paid to the Chair, Sir John Mitting.

Answered by Home Office: As of 30 June 2026, the Undercover Policing Inquiry had incurred a total expenditure of £144,597,900. The Chair’s remuneration forms part of the £28,931,400 published under “Inquiry staffing, including secretariat”. The Inquiry publishes a quarterly breakdown of its costs on its website: https://www.ucpi.org.uk/about-the-inquiry/#costs .

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Neil Duncan-Jordan · Labour

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, whether the Undercover Policing Inquiry will be brought to an end before it has heard from all eligible participants.

Answered by Home Office: The Home Office established the Undercover Policing Inquiry in 2015 to inquire into and report on undercover police operations conducted by English and Welsh police forces in England and Wales since 1968. The Inquiry’s investigations continue and hearings for Tranche 3 are ongoing. This tranche covers the activities of the Special Demonstration Squad during the years 1967 to 2007. Further …

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Neil Duncan-Jordan · Labour

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, if she will provide an update as to the current status of the Undercover Policing Inquiry.

Answered by Home Office: The Home Office established the Undercover Policing Inquiry in 2015 to inquire into and report on undercover police operations conducted by English and Welsh police forces in England and Wales since 1968. The Inquiry’s investigations continue and hearings for Tranche 3 are ongoing. This tranche covers the activities of the Special Demonstration Squad during the years 1967 to 2007. Further …

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Mr Andrew Snowden · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, how many members of staff are currently employed by the Undercover Policing Inquiry.

Answered by Home Office: i) The Undercover Policing Inquiry employs 36 civil servants. An additional 99 staff are contracted or sourced through a managed services contract to provide other services, such as legal support. ii) The Inquiry’s first interim report was published in June 2023. This covered the Inquiry’s Tranche One investigations of the Special Demonstration Squad (SDS) between 1968 and 1982 and did …

Undercover Policing Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Mr Andrew Snowden · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, what estimate she has made of the annual operating cost of the Undercover Policing Inquiry in each financial year since its establishment.

Answered by Home Office: i) The Undercover Policing Inquiry employs 36 civil servants. An additional 99 staff are contracted or sourced through a managed services contract to provide other services, such as legal support. ii) The Inquiry’s first interim report was published in June 2023. This covered the Inquiry’s Tranche One investigations of the Special Demonstration Squad (SDS) between 1968 and 1982 and did …

View all 38 mentions →

Key facts

Duration (ongoing): 11 years, 3 months Total reported cost: £144.6m Hearing days: 165 Core participants: 250 Statements: 355 Documents disclosed: 7,634