Scottish Child Abuse Inquiry
Ongoing · Chair: Lady Anne Smith · Established May 2015 · Commissioned by Scottish Government
Independent public inquiry into the abuse of children in residential care in Scotland, covering all forms of abuse within living memory.
More about this inquiry
Independent public inquiry into the abuse of children in residential care in Scotland, covering all forms of abuse within living memory. Chaired by Lady Anne Smith. Established following a 13-year campaign by survivors, originating with Petition PE535 presented to the Scottish Parliament in 2002. The inquiry has announced 117 separate focused investigations and conducts public hearings in phases by institution type. Phase 9 (long-stay healthcare establishments) concluded January 2025; Phase 10 (local authority and voluntary sector care homes) began December 2025. No formal recommendations have been published; these will appear in interim and final reports. Published findings to date are institution-specific case study reports. The most expensive Scottish public inquiry to date. Annual expenditure: 2015/16 £1.1m; 2016/17 £5.7m; 2017/18 £13.9m; 2018/19 £21.5m; 2019/20 £33.3m; 2022/23 £12.9m; 2023/24 £14.0m; 2024/25 £13.5m. Cumulative total to September 2025: £102m.
Inquiry website ↗ Terms of reference ↗
Where it stands
Public hearings have been held on 615 days, most recently on 19 June 2026.
The inquiry has published 18 reports, most recently The provision of education in residential settings for disabled children and young people and children with additional support needs: key legislation and policy developments from 1974 to 2024 on 9 April 2026.
Reports
- Abuse in residential care institutions for disabled children and young people - Executive Summary
- The provision of education in residential settings for disabled children and young people and children with additional support needs: key legislation and policy developments from 1974 to 20249 April 2026
- Abuse in residential care institutions for disabled children and young people9 April 2026
- Case Study 1: Daughters of Charity of St Vincent de Paul (Smyllum Park and Bellevue)Case Study 1 · 11 October 2018
- Case Study 2: Sisters of Nazareth (Aberdeen, Cardonald, Lasswade)Case Study 2 · 28 June 2019
- Case Study 3: Quarriers, Aberlour Child Care Trust and Barnardo'sCase Study 3 · 7 January 2020
- Case Study 4: Christian Brothers (St Ninian's Residential Care Home, Falkland)Case Study 4 · 1 February 2021
- Case Study 5: Benedictine Monks (Fort Augustus Abbey School and Carlekemp Priory School)Case Study 5 · 4 August 2021
- Case Study 6: Scottish Government Response to Petition PE535 (2002–2014)Case Study 6 · 29 September 2021
- Case Study 7: Marist Brothers (St Columba's College, Largs and St Joseph's College, Dumfries)Case Study 7 · 10 November 2021
- Case Study 8 Volume 1: Child Migration SchemesCase Study 8 Vol. 1 · 21 March 2023
- Case Study 8 Volume 2: Child Migration SchemesCase Study 8 Vol. 2 · 28 September 2023
- Case Study 9 Volume 1: Loretto School, MusselburghCase Study 9 Vol. 1 · 1 April 2023
- Case Study 9 Volume 2: Morrison's Academy, CrieffCase Study 9 Vol. 2 · 5 March 2024
- Case Study 9 Volume 3: Gordonstoun School, MorayCase Study 9 Vol. 3 · 19 June 2024
- Case Study 9 Volume 4: Queen Victoria School, DunblaneCase Study 9 Vol. 4 · 22 October 2024
- Case Study 9 Volume 5: Merchiston Castle School, EdinburghCase Study 9 Vol. 5 · 25 June 2025
- Case Study 9 Volume 6: Keil School, DumbartonCase Study 9 Vol. 6 · 20 August 2025
- Case Study 9 Volume 7: Fettes College, EdinburghCase Study 9 Vol. 7 · 28 January 2026
Recent milestones
- Phase 10 Begins10 December 2025
- Phase 9 Begins29 April 2025
- Phase 8 Concluded31 January 2025
Costs
£113,265,433
Total reported cost to June 2026 Costs in detailReports and timeline
Reports
Timeline
Inquiry Established
Scottish Child Abuse Inquiry formally established under Inquiries Act 2005.
Inquiry Announced
Scottish Government announced a public inquiry into historical child abuse in care.
Lady Smith appointed Chair
First Public Hearings
First phase of public hearings began.
Phase 8 Begins
Phase 8 Concluded
Phase 8 concluded after over 150 days of oral hearings covering 454 applicants.
Phase 9 Begins
Phase 10 Begins
Show all 9 milestones
Final Report Expected
Hearings may continue into 2026 with final report to follow completion of evidence.
Costs
| Period | Total | Inquiry legal | CP legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 2026 | £4,586,372 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2026 to 30 Jun 2026. |
| Jun 2026 (cum.) | £113,265,433 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 May 2015 to 30 Jun 2026. |
| Mar 2026 | £3,532,494 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Mar 2026. |
| Dec 2025 | £3,179,571 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2025 to 31 Dec 2025. |
| Sep 2025 | £3,229,583 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2025 to 30 Sep 2025. |
| Jun 2025 | £3,425,482 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2025 to 30 Jun 2025. |
| Mar 2025 | £3,399,816 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Mar 2025. |
| Dec 2024 | £3,476,697 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024. |
| Sep 2024 | £3,377,242 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Sep 2024. |
| Jun 2024 | £3,240,864 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2024 to 30 Jun 2024. |
| Mar 2024 | £3,606,111 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Mar 2024. |
| Dec 2023 | £3,431,042 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2023 to 31 Dec 2023. |
| Sep 2023 | £3,063,149 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Sep 2023. |
| Jun 2023 | £3,872,630 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2023 to 30 Jun 2023. |
| Mar 2023 | £3,196,531 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Mar 2023. |
| Dec 2022 | £3,717,289 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2022 to 31 Dec 2022. |
| Sep 2022 | £3,008,562 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2022 to 30 Sep 2022. |
| Jun 2022 | £2,612,579 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2022 to 30 Jun 2022. |
| Mar 2022 | £3,654,009 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2022 to 31 Mar 2022. |
| Dec 2021 | £2,801,283 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2021 to 31 Dec 2021. |
| Sep 2021 | £2,407,776 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2021 to 30 Sep 2021. |
| Jun 2021 | £2,589,790 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 30 Jun 2021. |
| Mar 2021 | £2,909,832 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2021 to 31 Mar 2021. |
| Dec 2020 | £2,714,509 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2020 to 31 Dec 2020. |
| Sep 2020 | £2,867,655 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2020 to 30 Sep 2020. |
| Jun 2020 | £2,071,823 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2020 to 30 Jun 2020. |
| Mar 2020 | £3,243,152 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2020 to 31 Mar 2020. |
| Dec 2019 | £3,057,880 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2019 to 31 Dec 2019. |
| Sep 2019 | £3,759,613 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2019 to 30 Sep 2019. |
| Jun 2019 | £1,708,731 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2019 to 30 Jun 2019. |
| Mar 2019 | £1,785,678 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2019 to 31 Mar 2019. |
| Dec 2018 | £2,061,330 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2018 to 31 Dec 2018. |
| Sep 2018 | £2,006,745 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2018 to 30 Sep 2018. |
| Jun 2018 | £1,803,376 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2018 to 30 Jun 2018. |
| Mar 2018 | £1,887,942 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2018 to 31 Mar 2018. |
| Dec 2017 | £2,102,396 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2017 to 31 Dec 2017. |
| Sep 2017 | £2,040,843 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2017 to 30 Sep 2017. |
| Jun 2017 | £2,110,588 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2017 to 30 Jun 2017. |
| Mar 2017 | £2,189,418 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2017 to 31 Mar 2017. |
| Dec 2016 | £1,017,000 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Oct 2016 to 31 Dec 2016. |
| Sep 2016 | £717,189 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jul 2016 to 30 Sep 2016. |
| Jun 2016 | £687,044 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2016 to 30 Jun 2016. |
| Mar 2016 | £504,041 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2016 to 31 Mar 2016. |
| Dec 2015 | £609,776 | Not reported | Not reported | Cost of the Inquiry Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 May 2015 to 31 Dec 2015. |
Cost of the Inquiry
Source and qualifications
Accounting period: 1 May 2015 to 30 Jun 2026.