29

Improve Professional Standards Unit investigation procedures and training

Brook House Inquiry · The Brook House Inquiry Report · Issued 19 September 2023 · Addressed to: Home Office

Government responseHome Office: Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) (Jan 2025)

DeliveryHome Office says in progress (Jan 2025)

Recommendation, verbatim from the inquiry

●Inquiry recommendation

The Home Office must update Detention Services Order 03/2015: Handling of Complaints to clarify that, in investigations carried out by the Professional Standards Unit into allegations of serious misconduct against contractor staff: Professional Standards Unit investigators must carry out interviews themselves and not rely on contractors to do so. All staff against whom allegations are made must be invited to interview. Where there are inconsistencies between any accounts given of events, any evidence relating to those accounts (including footage and documentation) obtained by an investigating officer must be shown to the complainant and to the subject of the complaint, prior to reaching a conclusion. The Professional Standards Unit must be given information about previous complaints made against alleged perpetrators, including unsubstantiated complaints. Previous disciplinary action against alleged perpetrators must be taken into account. Investigators must look for evidence that is both supportive and undermining of the complaint. Full reports must be sent to complainants (and their solicitors if applicable). Investigation reports and/or outcome letters must be sent directly from the PSU to complainants (and their solicitors if applicable). The Home Office Professional Standards Unit must ensure that training about the updated guidance takes place on a regular (at least annual) basis for staff dealing with investigations, as well as those responsible for managing them. The training must be subject to an assessment. The Professional Standards Unit must also review the training provided to investigators and ensure that investigators receive regular and adequate training, from a variety of perspectives, on issues including: the nature of immigration removal centres and issues that may arise; obstacles that detained people may face in making complaints; interviewing vulnerable witnesses; and use of force and assessing reasonableness of force.

Brook House Inquiry, The Brook House Inquiry Report · 19 Sep 2023 Source PDF →

Published evidence summary

AI-generated evidence summary

In January 2025, Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State at the Home Office, stated that the recommendation was accepted or partially accepted and was "due for closure by the end of January 2025" (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025). The department had previously reported in March 2024 that many recommendations relating to the work of the Professional Standards Unit were already part of its standard operating procedures, that those not included would be incorporated, and that training had been updated (Home Office response, Mar 2024). The record holds no update since the department's response of January 2025 (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025).

AI-generated summary of the record on this page, checked by a second model and automatic checks, 26 Sep 2026.

Government response

●Home Office · Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) · 15 Jan 2025

Words of: Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State, Home Office, written answer to Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, House of Commons, 15 January 2025 (UIN 23170)

30 out of the 33 recommendations made by the Brook House Inquiry have been accepted or partially accepted.

Response document: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)

Site note: The written answer gives this sentence once, for 30 of the 33 recommendations together: every recommendation except 7, 19 and 30, which it says were rejected. It does not say which of the 30 were accepted in full and which in part, so the site records "Accepted, fully or in part (not specified)". The same words are recorded on recommendations 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32 and 33. Recommendations 1, 2 and 3 are among the 30 but are not given this row, because the Minister's letter of 22 May 2025 states a position on each of them.

Earlier statement from Home Office (1)

●Home Office · Under consideration · 19 Mar 2024

Words of: Home Office, Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre (CP 1041), March 2024

6.9.2. The Home Office Professional Standards Unit (PSU) has been closely involved in the government’s review of the report. Many of the recommendations relating to the work of the PSU are already part of its standard operating procedures (SOPs) and those that are not will be incorporated. Training has been updated to reflect BHI findings, highlighting the nature of immigration removal centres and any obstacles that detained people may face in making complaints. The PSU has also sought expert training in interviewing vulnerable witnesses and has an embedded officer with expertise in the use of force and assessing reasonableness of force.

Extract from: Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre

Site note: CP 1041 is organised by ten key issues, not by recommendation, and states no position on any individual recommendation. Its only general statement of acceptance is that "The government has carefully considered and accepts the broad thrust of the recommendations". The words "in principle" do not appear anywhere in the document.

Delivery

●Home Office says in progress · 15 Jan 2025

5 (recommendations 5, 11, 27, 28 and 29) due for closure by the end of January 2025

From: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)

Site note: One written answer of 15 January 2025 addresses all 33 recommendations in groups: it names each recommendation in one of four groups and says nothing further about any of them individually. It does not say which of the 30 it describes as "accepted or partially accepted" were accepted in full and which in part.

Site note: The source gives this passage once, for the 5 recommendations it gives a closure date for. The same words are recorded on recommendations 5, 11, 27, 28 and 29.

How this page is built

The recommendation and the government responses are verbatim from primary documents. Delivery statements and other bodies' findings are shown in their own words, each with its source. The summary is written by this site and labelled as such. The Index does not paraphrase sources or characterise intent; it records what has been published.