Emma Caldwell Inquiry
Ongoing · Chair: Lord Scott · Established December 2025 · Commissioned by Scottish Government
Scottish statutory inquiry into the murder of Emma Caldwell in April 2005 and the police investigation, following the conviction of Iain Packer in February 2024 — 19 years after her death.
More about this inquiry
Scottish statutory inquiry into the murder of Emma Caldwell in April 2005 and the police investigation, following the conviction of Iain Packer in February 2024 — 19 years after her death. Examines why justice took so long and whether Strathclyde Police could reasonably have apprehended the offender sooner. Formally established 9 December 2025; no hearings held yet as of February 2026.
Inquiry website ↗ Terms of reference ↗
Where it stands
No report has been published yet.
Recent milestones
- Core participants announced20 January 2026
- Terms of Reference published9 December 2025
- Chair appointed24 April 2024
Costs
£1,345,378
Total reported cost to June 2026 Costs in detailReports and timeline
Reports
No reports listed.
Timeline
Inquiry announced
A Scottish statutory inquiry was announced into the murder of Emma Caldwell in 2005 and the police investigation, following the conviction of Iain Packer.
Chair appointed
Lord Scott was appointed to chair the Inquiry.
Terms of Reference published
The Inquiry's Terms of Reference were published and the Inquiry was formally established.
Core participants announced
The Inquiry announced its core participants.
Costs
| Period | Total | Inquiry legal | CP legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 2026 (cum.) | £1,345,378 | Not reported | Not reported | Cumulative costs to Q1 26/27 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 9 Dec 2025 to 30 Jun 2026. The official Q1 2026/27 breakdown explicitly states cumulative Inquiry expenditure since 9 December 2025 of £1,345,378. No cumulative category breakdown is published; all category fields intentionally blank. Earlier non-cumulative periods £96,995 + £593,441 + £654,942 sum to £1,345,378.
|
| Jun 2026 | £654,942 | Not reported | Not reported | Costs breakdown Q1 26/27 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2026 to 30 Jun 2026. |
| Mar 2026 | £593,441 | Not reported | Not reported | Costs breakdown Q4 25/26 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Mar 2026. |
| Dec 2025 | £96,995 | Not reported | Not reported | Costs breakdown Q3 25/26 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 9 Dec 2025 to 31 Dec 2025. |
Cumulative costs to Q1 26/27
Source and qualifications
Accounting period: 9 Dec 2025 to 30 Jun 2026.