Public Inquiry

Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry

Completed · Chair: Tom Kark KC · Established October 2021 · Commissioned by Northern Ireland Executive

Statutory public inquiry into systematic abuse of patients with learning disabilities at Muckamore Abbey Hospital, Northern Ireland.

More about this inquiry

Statutory public inquiry into systematic abuse of patients with learning disabilities at Muckamore Abbey Hospital, Northern Ireland. 300,000 hours of CCTV footage revealed physical abuse in 2017. 120 sitting days; oral evidence from 181 witnesses. Report published 18 June 2026 with 106 recommendations. 15 people charged in parallel police investigation.

Where it stands

Public hearings were held on 121 days between June 2022 and March 2025.

Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry Report was published on 18 June 2026.

The most recent government response on the record is Official Report (Hansard), Monday 22 June 2026: Ministerial Statement, Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry Final Report, dated 22 June 2026.

105 of the 106 recommendations tracked here have no government response on the record yet.

Government response (106 recommendations)

Delivery (the addressees’ latest statements)

  • No statement from Health and Social Care Northern Ireland or Northern Ireland Executive found in the sources searched 70
  • No statement from Department of Health NI found in the sources searched 18
  • No statement from the addressee found in the sources searched 7
  • Department of Health NI says in progress 5
  • Department of Health NI states no delivery position 2
  • No statement from Department of Justice (Northern Ireland) or Northern Ireland Executive found in the sources searched 1
  • No statement from Northern Ireland Executive or Health and Social Care Northern Ireland found in the sources searched 1
  • No statement from Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council or Northern Ireland Executive found in the sources searched 1
  • No statement from Police Service of Northern Ireland or Northern Ireland Executive found in the sources searched 1

Record checked against the sources 22 June 2026. Latest activity 23 September 2026.

Latest on the recommendations

All 106 recommendations

Reports

Reports and timeline

Recent milestones

  • Final report published18 June 2026
  • Resettlement information sessions begin3 June 2025
  • First formal hearing day6 June 2022
Full timeline

Costs

£16,101,482

Total reported cost to March 2026 Costs in detail

Recommendations

1 shown (filtered)
Clear filters

R106: Redress working party for MAH victims

Accepted · Department of Health NI says in progress

Recommended

In relation to direct redress, including consideration of financial compensation, we recommend that the DoH set up a small working party to consult with patients, service user groups and individuals connected to those who have suffered abuse at MAH in relation to what form redress might properly take.

Since then (summary written by this site)

In September 2026, Robbie Butler, Minister of Health, stated that officials had carried out initial scoping work on establishing a redress working party and that he expected advice on options imminently, adding that the department will engage with families before anything is agreed (Robbie Butler, Sep 2026). In June 2026, his predecessor Mike Nesbitt accepted the recommendation on behalf of the Department of Health NI, committing to set up the consultative working group after meeting with families (Mike Nesbitt response, Jun 2026).

Addressed to Department of Health NI · Full record

Reports and timeline

Timeline

Inquiry Announced

Source

Chair Appointed

Source

Inquiry formally set up

Source

First formal hearing day

Source

Resettlement information sessions begin

The Inquiry held 11 oral resettlement information sessions from 3 to 6 June 2025, hearing from 15 participants and receiving one written contribution. These sessions were not public and were subject to a restriction order; no participant-level details are included here.

Source

Final report published

The Inquiry published its final report, chaired by Tom Kark KC, making 106 recommendations.

Source

Costs

Total reported cost: £16,101,482
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Mar 2026 (cum.) £16,101,482 Not reported Not reported

Derived sum of five published FY costs; not an Inquiry-published cumulative or final total

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2026.

Arithmetic sum of the five amounts published on the MAH Inquiry Costs page: FY2021/22 £1,010,979 + FY2022/23 £4,114,761 + FY2023/24 £4,293,575 + FY2024/25 £4,352,787 + FY2025/26 £2,329,380 = £16,101,482. This £16,101,482 is derived here; the Inquiry has not published it as a cumulative total. The source says the Inquiry commenced in September 2021 and final costs will be published once all invoices are received and settled. The schema reporting window uses the five standard FY labels, 1 April 2021 through 31 March 2026; spending in FY2021/22 began only after the September 2021 commencement, and later close-out costs may be absent. The sum excludes historical overlapping rows 76 (same FY2021/22 £1,010,979 as row222) and 80 (partial FY2025/26 superseded by full row223), and does not add old cumulative row81 (£14,779,064 through 22 September 2025). All older rows remain unchanged.

Derived sum of five published FY costs; not an Inquiry-published cumulative or final total

Mar 2026 £2,329,380 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry Costs (Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry, annual expenditure by financial year)

Source and qualifications
Sep 2025 (cum.) £14,779,064 Not reported Not reported

Cumulative expenditure Sep 2021 - Sep 2025

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Sep 2021 to 22 Sep 2025.

Statutory inquiry into abuse of patients with learning disabilities at Muckamore Abbey Hospital, Belfast. Established October 2021 under Inquiries Act 2005. No category breakdown published. Final costs will be published at inquiry close. Funded by Department of Health (NI).

Cumulative expenditure Sep 2021 - Sep 2025

Sep 2025 £1,006,962 Not reported Not reported

FY25-26 (to 22 Sep 2025)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2025 to 22 Sep 2025.

Partial year. Final costs will be published at inquiry close.

FY25-26 (to 22 Sep 2025)

Mar 2025 £4,352,787 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry Costs (Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry, annual expenditure by financial year)

Source and qualifications
Mar 2024 £4,293,575 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry Costs (Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry, annual expenditure by financial year)

Source and qualifications
Mar 2023 £4,114,761 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry Costs (Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry, annual expenditure by financial year)

Source and qualifications
Mar 2022 £1,010,979 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry Costs (Muckamore Abbey Hospital Inquiry, annual expenditure by financial year)

Source and qualifications
Mar 2022 £1,010,979 Not reported Not reported

FY21-22 (Sep 2021 - Mar 2022)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Sep 2021 to 31 Mar 2022.

Set-up period. Inquiry established October 2021.

FY21-22 (Sep 2021 - Mar 2022)

1 Apr 2021 – 31 Mar 2026 · Derived sum of five published FY costs; not an Inquiry-published cumulative or final total

Derived sum of five published FY costs; not an Inquiry-published cumulative or final total

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2026.

Arithmetic sum of the five amounts published on the MAH Inquiry Costs page: FY2021/22 £1,010,979 + FY2022/23 £4,114,761 + FY2023/24 £4,293,575 + FY2024/25 £4,352,787 + FY2025/26 £2,329,380 = £16,101,482. This £16,101,482 is derived here; the Inquiry has not published it as a cumulative total. The source says the Inquiry commenced in September 2021 and final costs will be published once all invoices are received and settled. The schema reporting window uses the five standard FY labels, 1 April 2021 through 31 March 2026; spending in FY2021/22 began only after the September 2021 commencement, and later close-out costs may be absent. The sum excludes historical overlapping rows 76 (same FY2021/22 £1,010,979 as row222) and 80 (partial FY2025/26 superseded by full row223), and does not add old cumulative row81 (£14,779,064 through 22 September 2025). All older rows remain unchanged.

Derived sum of five published FY costs; not an Inquiry-published cumulative or final total

Detailed cost breakdown · to Mar 2026

Key facts

Duration: 4 years, 8 months Total reported cost: £16.1m Witnesses: 235 Statements: 333 Report pages: 710