Written Question
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, if she will publish a timeline for implementation of the IICSA recommendations.
Completed · Chair: Professor Alexis Jay · Established March 2015 · Commissioned by Home Office
Wide-ranging inquiry into institutional failures to protect children from sexual abuse in England and Wales.
Inquiry website ↗ Terms of reference ↗
Public hearings were held on 316 days between March 2016 and December 2020.
The inquiry has published 16 reports, most recently The Report of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse on 20 October 2022.
The most recent government response on the record is Government response to the final report of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse, dated 22 May 2023.
45 of the 107 recommendations tracked here have no government response on the record yet.
Record checked against the sources 2 October 2026. Latest activity 7 July 2026.
£189,963,980
Total reported cost to March 2023 Costs in detail116
mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activityHome Secretary announced inquiry into institutional child sexual abuse.
Broad terms examining institutional failures to protect children.
Professor Alexis Jay appointed as fourth and final Chair.
First public hearings commenced.
Final report published with 20 principal recommendations.
Government published response to recommendations.
| Period | Total | Inquiry legal | CP legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 2023 | £6,971,878 | £773,728 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2022-23 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2022 to 31 Mar 2023. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2023 (cum.) | £189,963,980 | £52,079,728 | Not reported | IICSA Total Expenditure 2015-2023 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2023. Cumulative total over 8 years. The inquiry ran from 2015 to October 2022, with final report published 20 October 2022. Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements.
|
| Mar 2022 | £14,191,559 | £2,606,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2021-22 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2022. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2021 | £32,693,623 | £8,393,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2020-21 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2020 to 31 Mar 2021. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2020 | £35,321,985 | £11,018,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2019-20 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2019 to 31 Mar 2020. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2019 | £36,673,118 | £10,871,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2018-19 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2018 to 31 Mar 2019. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2018 | £28,550,591 | £8,820,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2017-18 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2017 to 31 Mar 2018. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2017 | £20,836,063 | £5,628,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2016-17 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2016 to 31 Mar 2017. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2016 | £14,725,163 | £3,970,000 | Not reported | IICSA Financial Report 2015-16 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2016. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
IICSA Total Expenditure 2015-2023
Accounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2023.
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, if she will publish a timeline for implementation of the IICSA recommendations.
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Justice, how many people have been (a) prosecuted and (b) convicted for sexual offences committed in nursery, pre-school or other early years settings, broken down by (i) sex of the offender, (ii) offence type and (iii) age of …
Answered by Ministry of Justice: This Government is resolutely committed to delivering meaningful change for victims of child sexual abuse and will do everything in its power to prevent the horrors of these appalling crimes. Cases of such abuse committed in nurseries and early years settings are particularly shocking. The Ministry of Justice publishes data on prosecutions and convictions for a wide range of offences, …
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, if she will hold discussions with the police on the potential merits of commissioning a further investigation into abuse at Grafton Close covering the full period the home was operational.
Answered by Home Office: The Government is committed to tackling all forms of child sexual abuse and exploitation, ensuring victims and survivors receive appropriate care and support and pursuing offenders and bringing them to justice. Operation Fernbridge was a police‑led investigation that has now closed. The Operation resulted in one conviction for the sexual assault of a child at Grafton Close. Decisions about the …
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, what assessment she has made of the adequacy of (a) the timeframe and (b) other aspects of Operation Fernbridge for investigating allegations of child sexual abuse at Grafton Close children’s home.
Answered by Home Office: The Government is committed to tackling all forms of child sexual abuse and exploitation, ensuring victims and survivors receive appropriate care and support and pursuing offenders and bringing them to justice. Operation Fernbridge was a police‑led investigation that has now closed. The Operation resulted in one conviction for the sexual assault of a child at Grafton Close. Decisions about the …
Asked: To ask the hon. Member for Battersea, representing the Church Commissioners, what criteria are used to assess whether safeguarding arrangements in the Church of England are adequate.
Answered by Church Commissioners: In response to the recommendations made in the IICSA Enquiry, an independent audit programme delivered by INEQE was commissioned across all dioceses, cathedrals & the National Safeguarding Team. INEQE use the National Safeguarding Standards to measure progress. The standards are available here: https://www.churchofengland.org/safeguarding/national-safeguarding-standards To date, INEQE have reviewed the National Safeguarding Team and 22 dioceses, including their cathedrals. 17 of …
Statement: My Rt Hon Friend, the Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Women and Equalities (Bridget Phillipson MP) has made the following statement:In December I gave a statement to the House on the Metropolitan police investigation into child sexual abuse in Camden. Today, Vincent …
Statement: In December I gave a statement to the House on the Metropolitan police investigation into child sexual abuse in Camden. Today, Vincent Chan is due to appear for sentencing at Wood Green Crown Court in relation to 56 offences, to which he has pleaded guilty.His …
Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, whether her Department plans to commission a national public awareness programme on child sexual abuse.
Answered by Home Office: The Tackling Child Sexual Abuse Progress Update, published in April last year, set out clearly the actions the Government is taking to respond to IICSA’s recommendations. We are now delivering on those commitments overseen by an inter-ministerial group on child sexual abuse chaired by the Minister for Safeguarding and Violence Against Women and Girls. Child Protection Authority Last month the …