Public Inquiry

Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin

Completed · Chair: HHJ Thomas Teague KC · Established November 2023 · Commissioned by Home Office

Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin, an Islamic teacher killed by two Islamic State supporters in Rochdale in 2016.

More about this inquiry

Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin, an Islamic teacher killed by two Islamic State supporters in Rochdale in 2016. Examined police investigations into the perpetrators prior to the murder. Found the killing constituted an act of terrorism. No recommendations made.

Where it stands

Public hearings were held on 4 days between December 2023 and September 2024.

Report of the Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin was published on 10 July 2025.

The inquiry made no formal recommendations.

Reports

Reports and timeline

Recent milestones

  • Report Published10 July 2025
  • Public Evidence Hearings23 September 2024
  • Preliminary Hearing7 December 2023
Full timeline

Costs

£1,095,614

Total reported cost Costs in detail

Parliament

3

mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activity

Reports and timeline

Reports

Report of the Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin Final Report · 10 July 2025 · PDF Public open report text is available in the accessible HTML edition added 17 July 2025. The PDF and HTML present the same report; PDF page mapping is unverified.

Timeline

Inquiry Established

A statutory inquiry into the death of Jalal Uddin was established, chaired by His Honour Judge Thomas Teague KC.

Preliminary Hearing

A preliminary hearing was held on 7 December 2023.

Public Evidence Hearings

Public evidence was heard over three days, 23 to 25 September 2024.

Report Published

The inquiry report was published on 10 July 2025. The chair stated that no public recommendations were made; any recommendations are in a closed report to the Home Secretary.

Source

Costs

Total reported cost: £1,095,614
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Accounting period not stated (cum.) £1,095,614 Not reported Not reported

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 13 Apr 2026.

House of Commons written answer Q124133, published 13 Apr 2026, says the Jalal Uddin Inquiry reported on 10 Jul 2025, is now closed, and its costs are £1,095,614. The question asks for total public cost to date. The answer does not state an accounting start/end cutoff or breakdown, so both accounting dates and all category fields are NULL. Source publication date is not used as an accounting cutoff. This is a reported to-date amount, not a claim of final settled expenditure.

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Accounting period not stated · Source published 13 Apr 2026 · Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 13 Apr 2026.

House of Commons written answer Q124133, published 13 Apr 2026, says the Jalal Uddin Inquiry reported on 10 Jul 2025, is now closed, and its costs are £1,095,614. The question asks for total public cost to date. The answer does not state an accounting start/end cutoff or breakdown, so both accounting dates and all category fields are NULL. Source publication date is not used as an accounting cutoff. This is a reported to-date amount, not a claim of final settled expenditure.

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Detailed cost breakdown

Parliamentary activity

3 mentions since Jul 2025
1 question 2 statements

Jalal Uddin Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Mike Wood · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, pursuant to the answer of 4 September 2025, to Question 70519, on Public Inquiries, what has been the total public cost to date of the Jalal Uddin Inquiry.

Answered by Home Office: The Jalal Uddin Inquiry reported on 10 July 2025, and it is now closed. The Inquiry's costs are £1,095,614.

Public Statutory Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin – publication of Inquiry Report

Written Ministerial Statement House of Lords Lord Hanson of Flint · Labour

Statement: My hon Friend the Minister of State for Security (Dan Jarvis) has today made the following Written Ministerial Statement:Today the independent Report of the Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin was published by His Honour Thomas Teague KC.Retired Imam Jalal Uddin was brutally murdered …

Public Statutory Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin – publication of Inquiry Report

Written Ministerial Statement House of Commons Dan Jarvis · Labour

Statement: Today the independent Report of the Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin was published by His Honour Thomas Teague KC.Retired Imam Jalal Uddin was brutally murdered in Rochdale on 18 February 2016 and, in November 2023, the then Home Secretary asked HH Thomas Teague …

View all 3 mentions →

Recommendation tracking

Chair explicitly stated no public recommendations were made. Any recommendations are in a closed report to the Home Secretary.

Key facts

Duration: 1 year, 8 months Total reported cost: £1.1m