New comprehensive use of force detention services order
Brook House Inquiry · The Brook House Inquiry Report · Issued 19 September 2023 · Addressed to: Home Office
Government responseHome Office: Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) (Jan 2025)
DeliveryHome Office says in progress (May 2025)
Recommendation, verbatim from the inquiry
●Inquiry recommendation
The Home Office must introduce, as a matter of urgency, a new and comprehensive detention services order to address use of force in immigration removal centres. The detention services order must include the following issues: the permissible justifications for the use of force within immigration removal centres, based on the key principle that force must not be used unnecessarily and must be used only as a last resort; the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), including that it must be subject to a dynamic risk assessment before and during any use of force incident; the protection of dignity when force is used on a naked or near-naked detained person; the circumstances in which force can be used against a detained person with mental ill health; and monitoring, oversight and reporting of use of force by contractors and by the Home Office. The Home Office must ensure that training about the application of the new detention services order and use of force techniques takes place on a regular (at least annual) basis for all detention staff as well as healthcare staff. Attendance must be mandatory for all staff working in immigration removal centres and those responsible for managing them. The training must be subject to an assessment. In anticipation of a new detention services order on the use of force in immigration detention, the Home Office must issue an immediate instruction to its contractors managing immigration removal centres that force must be used only as a last resort, using approved techniques.
Brook House Inquiry, The Brook House Inquiry Report · 19 Sep 2023 Source PDF →
Published evidence summary
AI-generated evidence summary
The Inquiry asked the Home Office to publish a new detention order on the use of force. In a letter of May 2025 quoted in a court judgment, Dame Angela Eagle, Minister for Border Security and Asylum, stated that a new detention services order addressing mental health considerations was being developed for immigration detention, though named elements including protective equipment risk assessments and mandatory training were not mentioned (Dame Angela Eagle, May 2025). The Independent Monitoring Board at Gatwick Immigration Removal Centres reported in September 2026 that the resulting order was published in December 2025 (Independent Monitoring Boards, Sep 2026).
AI-generated summary of the record on this page, checked by a second model and automatic checks, 5 Oct 2026.
Government response
●Home Office · Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) · 15 Jan 2025
30 out of the 33 recommendations made by the Brook House Inquiry have been accepted or partially accepted.
Response document: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)
Earlier statement from Home Office (1)
●Home Office · Under consideration · 19 Mar 2024
6.6.3. The Home Office has been working closely with HM Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS), NHS England and the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) to ensure expert input into consideration of these recommendations. The use of force is an unfortunate but necessary tool to maintain the safety and security of both those detained and staff, but we note the report findings into the use of dangerous techniques. The Home Office has communicated to all IRC and contracted service provider staff that techniques involving hand cuffing behind backs whilst seated is not permitted. A new DSO in relation to use of force is being developed in consultation with experts, and training around use of force reviews is under development. This will go hand in hand with an overhaul of existing assurance processes, including the introduction of an escalation system to better facilitate the communication of concerns.
Extract from: Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre
Delivery
●Home Office says in progress · 22 May 2025
A new DSO in relation to use of force is being developed specifically for the immigration detention estate. The DSO will include key considerations on mental health of detained individual’s prior to and during the application of force. There will be engagement with non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and key stakeholders during the development of the DSO.
From: R (D1914 and AAA) v Secretary of State for the Home Department; R (AVY) v Secretary of State for the Home Department, Dame Angela Eagle, Minister for Border Security and Asylum
Earlier statements on delivery (0)
●Home Office · 15 Jan 2025
the remaining 13 (recommendations 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 31, 32 and 33) on track for closure by summer 2025
What other bodies have found
●Independent Monitoring Board · 1 Sep 2026
The Brook House Inquiry recommended a definition of use of force tailored to the immigration detention setting rather than borrowing from prisons. It was only in December 2025 that the resultant Detention Service Order was published.
Earlier findings (1)
●Independent Monitoring Board · 1 Dec 2025
The Board confirmed last year that we welcomed the recommendation of the Brook House Inquiry for a definition of use of force tailored to the immigration setting rather than borrowing from prisons. Such a definition has not yet emerged.
Published evidence
●HM Inspectorate of Prisons · 3 Sep 2025
3.24 Levels of violence were still high but had stabilised and, in some areas, slightly reduced. Force was used less often and there had been no group protests in the 11 months since the full inspection, compared to four in the first seven months of 2024.
Read the finding in full
3.24 Levels of violence were still high but had stabilised and, in some areas, slightly reduced. Force was used less often and there had been no group protests in the 11 months since the full inspection, compared to four in the first seven months of 2024.Report on an independent review of progress at Brook House IRC (September 2025)View source →
How this page is built
The recommendation and the government responses are verbatim from primary documents. Delivery statements and other bodies' findings are shown in their own words, each with its source. The summary is written by this site and labelled as such. The Index does not paraphrase sources or characterise intent; it records what has been published.