Public Inquiry

Hutton Inquiry

Completed · Chair: Lord Hutton · Established August 2003 · Commissioned by Cabinet Office

Inquiry into circumstances surrounding the death of Dr David Kelly, a weapons expert who had briefed journalists about Iraq's weapons of mass destruction.

Historical inquiry (pre-Inquiries Act 2005). Listed for reference; recommendation progress is not actively tracked.

Where it stands

Report of the Inquiry into the Circumstances Surrounding the Death of Dr David Kelly was published on 28 January 2004.

The inquiry made no formal recommendations.

Reports

Reports and timeline

Costs

£1,680,000

Total reported cost Costs in detail

Parliament

8

mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activity

Reports and timeline

Timeline

No milestones recorded.

Costs

Total reported cost: £1,680,000
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Accounting period not stated (cum.) £1,680,000 Not reported Not reported

Hutton Inquiry expenditure incurred: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 6 May 2004.

GBP £1.68 million incurred by the actual inquiry itself, as reported on 6 May 2004. Included within the £2.54 million estimated government total in the same statement; do not add both figures. Source does not state expense-period start/end, detailed categories, VAT, audited status or an exact final accounting closure date. Nullable period bounds are deliberate. Eligible inquiry-scope observation; incurred expenditure is not labelled an audited final account.

Hutton Inquiry expenditure incurred: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Accounting period not stated (cum.)Not included in totals £2,540,000 Not reported Not reported

Estimated government cost of Hutton Inquiry: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 6 May 2004.

Not included in inquiry cost totals. The reason is not recorded.

Estimated government cost of Hutton Inquiry: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Accounting period not stated · Source published 6 May 2004 · Hutton Inquiry expenditure incurred: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Hutton Inquiry expenditure incurred: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 6 May 2004.

GBP £1.68 million incurred by the actual inquiry itself, as reported on 6 May 2004. Included within the £2.54 million estimated government total in the same statement; do not add both figures. Source does not state expense-period start/end, detailed categories, VAT, audited status or an exact final accounting closure date. Nullable period bounds are deliberate. Eligible inquiry-scope observation; incurred expenditure is not labelled an audited final account.

Hutton Inquiry expenditure incurred: Lord Filkin, HL Deb 6 May 2004 c70WS

Detailed cost breakdown

Parliamentary activity

8 mentions since Sep 2003
1 debate

High Street Heroes

Early Day Motion House of Commons Neale Hanvey · Scottish National Party

Said: That this House recognises Cowdenbeath bagpiper Dean Saunders for his charity work throughout the covid-19 outbreak; congratulates Dean on achieving Highly Commended status as one of Scotland Loves Local’s High Street Heroes; and also congratulates Kirkcaldy businesspeople Amanda Allan of Heavenly Sensations, Bill Harvey formerly …

JOAN HUTTON - 45 YEARS OF SERVICE TO THE NHS IN GLENROTHES

Early Day Motion House of Commons Peter Grant · Scottish National Party

Said: That this House congratulates Joan Hutton of Glenrothes on her recent retirement as receptionist at Glenwood Medical Practice in Glenrothes; records its thanks on behalf of generations of patients for the dedication Joan has demonstrated during 45 years of unbroken service with the same practice; …

LEGACY OF COLIN HUTTON

Early Day Motion House of Commons Karl Turner · Labour

Said: That this House commemorates the life and legacy of Colin Hutton and mourns his death; recognises the enormous contribution that Colin made to rugby league in the city of Hull as well as nationally; celebrates his achievements both as a player and a coach during …

RENFREWSHIRE PROVOST COMMUNITY AWARDS

Early Day Motion House of Commons Gavin Newlands · Scottish National Party

Said: That this House recognises all of those who won an award and were nominated for Renfrewshire Council's Provost Community Awards, held on 11 March 2016; notes that 70 nominations were submitted and that the awards ceremony is designed to recognise local community activists for their …

MR JOHN WILLIAMS' DRAFT DOSSIER ON IRAQ'S WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION

Early Day Motion House of Commons Mr John Baron · Conservative

Said: That this House believes that decisions regarding British involvement in wars or conflicts must be based on reliable intelligence and accurate public information; further believes that the September 2002 dossier, Iraq's Weapons of Mass Destruction, played an important part in making the case for military …

Hutton Inquiry

Hansard Debate House of Lords

Said: Lords Chamber

BBC AND THE HUTTON REPORT

Early Day Motion House of Commons Norman Baker · Liberal Democrat

Said: That this House notes that, while the BBC must learn lessons from the Hutton Inquiry, it remains in the public interest for the BBC to pursue a policy of vigorous investigative journalism, and that it should not react to its present difficulties by steering away …

GREG DYKE AND NOT ACCEPTABLE E-MAILING

Early Day Motion House of Commons Mr Gerald Kaufman · Labour

Said: That this House notes that at the Hutton inquiry on 15th September, Mr Greg Dyke, Director-General of the BBC, described e-mailing of honourable Members of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee by Mr Andrew Gilligan as 'not acceptable'; further notes that Mr Gilligan kept Mr Richard …

View all 8 mentions →

Legacy & impact

AI-generated · 26 Mar 2026
The Hutton Inquiry examined the circumstances surrounding the death of Dr David Kelly in July 2003, following his identification as the source of a BBC report about the government's Iraq weapons dossier. Lord Hutton's report, published in January 2004, found that the BBC report was 'unfounded' and that the government had not acted improperly in naming Dr Kelly. The inquiry made no formal recommendations.

The report's findings led to immediate resignations at the BBC, including Chairman Gavyn Davies, Director-General Greg Dyke, and reporter Andrew Gilligan. The BBC commissioned the Neil Report (June 2004), which proposed reforms to editorial and management processes. These reforms were reflected in the BBC Charter 2006, which replaced the Board of Governors with the BBC Trust and introduced strengthened editorial guidelines.

The BBC College of Journalism was established in 2005 as part of these reforms, though it closed in 2013. The BBC Trust itself was replaced by the BBC Board under the 2017 Charter. The Butler Review (2004) subsequently examined the use of intelligence in the Iraq dossier, reaching different conclusions about the presentation of intelligence material.

The Hutton Inquiry remains significant in discussions about the scope and independence of public inquiries. Its narrow terms of reference, focusing solely on Dr Kelly's death rather than broader questions about the Iraq war, continue to influence debates about how public inquiries are established and conducted.
Reforms attributed to this inquiry · AI-generated• BBC Trust established under BBC Charter 2006, replacing Board of Governors
• BBC Editorial Guidelines strengthened following Neil Report recommendations
• BBC College of Journalism established (2005)
• Reformed BBC complaints procedure introduced
• Enhanced editorial control systems at BBC
Reforms reversed or weakened · AI-generated• BBC Trust abolished in 2017, replaced by BBC Board under new Charter
• BBC College of Journalism closed in 2013
Unfinished business · AI-generatedNone identified - the inquiry made no formal recommendations

Recommendation tracking

Chair explicitly stated in paragraph 472 of the report that it was unnecessary to make any express recommendations. Report contained findings and conclusions only.

Key legislation

BBC Charter 2006 (Governance Reform)
Replaced the BBC Board of Governors with the BBC Trust, partly in response to the governance failures identified during the Hutton Inquiry and the subsequent Neil Report.

Implementation reviewed by

BBC Neil Report (internal review) (Jun 2004)
Internal review by Ronald Neil of the BBC's editorial and management processes. Recommended strengthening of editorial controls, creation of the College of Journalism, and reforms to the BBC's complaints procedure. Most recommendations were implemented.

Influence & connections

Led directly to Intelligence assessment and government communications
The Hutton Inquiry's narrow terms of reference and perceived exoneration of the government led to calls for a broader investigation, resulting in the Butler Review (2004) which reached more critical conclusions about the use of intelligence.

Key facts

Duration: 6 months Total reported cost: £1.7m