Dawn Sturgess Inquiry
Said: Commons Chamber
Completed · Chair: Lord Hughes of Ombersley · Established March 2022 · Commissioned by Cabinet Office
Public inquiry into the death of Dawn Sturgess, who died in July 2018 after being exposed to the nerve agent Novichok in Amesbury, Wiltshire.
Public inquiry into the death of Dawn Sturgess, who died in July 2018 after being exposed to the nerve agent Novichok in Amesbury, Wiltshire. The poisoning was linked to the attempted assassination of Sergei and Yulia Skripal in nearby Salisbury.
Public hearings were held on 31 days between March 2022 and December 2024.
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry report was published on 4 December 2025.
The inquiry made no formal recommendations.
£8,030,881
Total reported cost to September 2025 Costs in detail1
mention in Parliament Parliamentary activityThe first preliminary hearing was held on 25 March 2022.
Public hearings commenced in Salisbury examining circumstances of the novichok poisoning.
The open hearings concluded after evidence in Salisbury and London. Closed hearings with oral evidence followed; the Inquiry later confirmed their conclusion, but the exact last closed sitting date was not published.
The Inquiry notified participants that the closed hearings had concluded. This records the confirmation date, not an asserted last sitting date.
Inquiry report published, concluding Putin bears "moral responsibility" for Dawn Sturgess's death.
| Period | Total | Inquiry legal | CP legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2025 | £589,227 | Not reported | Not reported | Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2025 to 30 Sep 2025. Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 |
| Sep 2025 (cum.) | £8,030,881 | Not reported | Not reported | Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 (Total to Date / cumulative lifetime costs) Source and qualificationsAccounting period: start not stated; to 30 Sep 2025. |
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 (Total to Date / cumulative lifetime costs)
Accounting period: start not stated; to 30 Sep 2025.
Said: Commons Chamber