Public Inquiry

Sheku Bayoh Inquiry

Ongoing · Chair: Lord Colbeck · Established November 2020 · Commissioned by Scottish Government

Inquiry into the death of Sheku Bayoh following contact with Police Scotland officers in Kirkcaldy on 3 May 2015.

More about this inquiry

Inquiry into the death of Sheku Bayoh following contact with Police Scotland officers in Kirkcaldy on 3 May 2015. Lord Bracadale (original chair) resigned 21 October 2025 after disclosure of five private meetings with the Bayoh family; the entire legal team also resigned. Lord Colbeck appointed 14 January 2026 as new chair; takes up post 2 March 2026. 122 days of oral evidence already taken. Restart expected March 2026.

Where it stands

Public hearings have been held on 82 days, most recently on 12 June 2025.

No report has been published yet.

Recent milestones

  • Closing submissions deadline extended23 September 2026
  • Written closing submissions invited31 March 2026
  • New chair takes office2 March 2026
Full timeline

Costs

£27,806,840

Total reported cost to June 2026 Costs in detail

Reports and timeline

Reports

No reports listed.

Timeline

Chair Appointed

Lord Bracadale appointed as Chair of the Inquiry.

Inquiry Announced

Source

Terms of reference announced

Source

Inquiry Begins

Inquiry formally began examining events surrounding Mr Bayoh's death.

Source

First preliminary hearing

Source

Evidential Hearings Begin

Public evidence hearings commenced in Edinburgh.

Source

Last day of oral evidence (Day 122)

Source

Chair resigns

Lord Bracadale resigned as Chair, stating the best interests of the inquiry would be served by a new chair; counsel to the inquiry also departed.

Source

Show all 11 milestones

New chair takes office

Lord Colbeck took up appointment as Chair, announced by Scottish Ministers on 14 January 2026.

Source

Written closing submissions invited

The Chair invited written closing submissions from core participants, with no oral closing hearing. The initial completion deadline of 9 October 2026 was subsequently extended.

Source

Closing submissions deadline extended

Following a request on compassionate grounds, the Inquiry extended the deadline for completion of written closing submissions to 19 November 2026.

Source

Costs

Total reported cost: £27,806,840
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Jun 2026 (cum.) £27,806,840 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 30 Nov 2020 to 30 Jun 2026.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2026 £409,105 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2026 to 30 Jun 2026.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2026 £549,119 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Mar 2026.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2025 £599,536 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Oct 2025 to 31 Dec 2025.

Inquiry costs

Sep 2025 £621,856 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jul 2025 to 30 Sep 2025.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2025 £827,481 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2025 to 30 Jun 2025.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2025 £1,034,276 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Mar 2025.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2024 £1,669,663 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024.

Inquiry costs

Sep 2024 £1,968,285 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Sep 2024.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2024 £1,722,751 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2024 to 30 Jun 2024.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2024 £2,115,272 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Mar 2024.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2023 £1,366,681 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Oct 2023 to 31 Dec 2023.

Inquiry costs

Sep 2023 £1,185,508 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Sep 2023.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2023 £1,425,093 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2023 to 30 Jun 2023.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2023 £1,862,587 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Mar 2023.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2022 £1,480,895 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Oct 2022 to 31 Dec 2022.

Inquiry costs

Sep 2022 £1,487,323 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jul 2022 to 30 Sep 2022.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2022 £1,567,066 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2022 to 30 Jun 2022.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2022 £1,536,091 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2022 to 31 Mar 2022.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2021 £1,124,570 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Oct 2021 to 31 Dec 2021.

Inquiry costs

Sep 2021 £1,794,210 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jul 2021 to 30 Sep 2021.

Inquiry costs

Jun 2021 £651,973 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 30 Jun 2021.

Inquiry costs

Mar 2021 £713,711 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Jan 2021 to 31 Mar 2021.

Inquiry costs

Dec 2020 £93,788 Not reported Not reported

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 30 Nov 2020 to 31 Dec 2020.

Inquiry costs

30 Nov 2020 – 30 Jun 2026 · Inquiry costs

Inquiry costs

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 30 Nov 2020 to 30 Jun 2026.

Inquiry costs

Detailed cost breakdown · to Jun 2026

Key facts

Duration (ongoing): 5 years, 10 months Total reported cost: £27.8m