Public Inquiry

Lampard Inquiry

Ongoing · Chair: Baroness Lampard · Established October 2023 · Commissioned by Department of Health and Social Care

Statutory public inquiry into more than 2,000 deaths of mental health inpatients under NHS Essex services (Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust and North East London Foundation Trust) between 2000 and 2023.

More about this inquiry

Statutory public inquiry into more than 2,000 deaths of mental health inpatients under NHS Essex services (Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust and North East London Foundation Trust) between 2000 and 2023. Originally established as the Essex Mental Health Independent Inquiry on 21 January 2021 (non-statutory). Converted to statutory inquiry under the Inquiries Act 2005 by formal notice on 27 October 2023, relaunched as the Lampard Inquiry on 1 November 2023. Hearings ongoing through 2026; closing speeches expected autumn 2026; final report with recommendations anticipated end of 2027.

Where it stands

Hearings are sitting this week. The latest sitting day was 15 October 2026; the next is listed for 20 October.

No report has been published yet.

Recent milestones

  • Public hearing (Day 59)7 October 2026
  • First public hearings (opening statements and impact evidence)9 September 2024
  • Terms of Reference consultation launched1 November 2023
Full timeline

Costs

£7,556,399

Spent in the latest reported period, April 2024 to March 2025 Costs in detail

Parliament

9

mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activity

Reports and timeline

Reports

No reports listed.

Timeline

Non-statutory inquiry announced

The Essex Mental Health Independent Inquiry was announced as a non-statutory inquiry into mental health inpatient deaths in Essex.

Statutory conversion announced

The Secretary of State for Health and Social Care announced that the inquiry would be granted statutory status under the Inquiries Act 2005.

Source

Baroness Lampard announced as chair

The appointment of Baroness Kate Lampard CBE as chair was announced by the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care.

Source

Formally statutory

The inquiry was formally converted to a statutory inquiry under the Inquiries Act 2005.

Terms of Reference consultation launched

Baroness Lampard launched a public consultation on the Terms of Reference, and the inquiry re-launched as The Lampard Inquiry.

Source

First public hearings (opening statements and impact evidence)

The Inquiry states that its first public hearings began on 9 September 2024 and included opening statements and impact evidence. The Day 1 hearing page records the opening statements scheduled for that date. This marks the start of public hearings; it does not assert that all oral evidence began on this date.

Source

Public hearing (Day 59)

The captured official Hearings index lists Hearing Day 59 (7 October 2026) under Past Hearings while identifying Day 60 (8 October 2026) as the Current Hearing. This is the latest completed public hearing listed at capture; it is not a hearing-conclusion milestone and does not change the inquiry’s ongoing status.

Source

Costs

Latest reported period: £7,556,399
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
Mar 2025 (cum.)Not included in totals £8,582,608 Not reported Not reported

Cumulative expenditure to 31 March 2025 (set-up phase + FY 2024-25)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 27 Oct 2023 to 31 Mar 2025.

Not included in inquiry cost totals. The reason is not recorded.

Cumulative expenditure to 31 March 2025 (set-up phase + FY 2024-25)

Mar 2025 £7,556,399 £4,271,971 £1,087,890

Financial Report, 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 (FY 2024-25)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2024 to 31 Mar 2025.

Financial Report, 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 (FY 2024-25)

Sep 2024 £1,855,064 £1,232,061 Not reported

Financial Report, 27 October 2023 - 30 September 2024 (post-ToR phase, 10 April - 30 September 2024)

Source and qualifications
Apr 2024 £1,026,209 Not reported Not reported

Financial Report: Inquiry set-up phase, 27 October 2023 - 9 April 2024

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 27 Oct 2023 to 9 Apr 2024.

Financial Report: Inquiry set-up phase, 27 October 2023 - 9 April 2024

1 Apr 2024 – 31 Mar 2025 · Financial Report, 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 (FY 2024-25)

Financial Report, 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 (FY 2024-25)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2024 to 31 Mar 2025.

Financial Report, 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 (FY 2024-25)

Detailed cost breakdown · to Mar 2025
Inquiry legal costs
£4,271,971
Core participant legal costs
£1,087,890
Staff
£1,068,088
Accommodation
£191,287
Technology
£276,539
Other
£660,623

Parliamentary activity

9 mentions since Feb 2024
7 questions 2 statements

Lampard Inquiry: Costs

Written Question House of Commons Mike Wood · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what has been the total cost to date of the Lampard Inquiry.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: The Lampard Inquiry has published information on its expenditure at the following link:https://lampardinquiry.org.uk/financial-report/

Lampard Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Sir John Whittingdale · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, when he expects the Lampard Inquiry to report; and what steps he is taking to support the Inquiry.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: Although the Department sponsors the Lampard Inquiry, the inquiry is independent of the Government. Baroness Lampard has committed to publish the final report as soon as possible and the inquiry will publish its intended timescales in due course. The next hearings are due to commence on 13 October 2025, with further hearings scheduled throughout 2026. The Government is committed to …

Lampard Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Dr Jeevun Sandher · Labour

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, whether his Department plans to integrate the recommendations of the Lampard inquiry into mental health services nationwide.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: The Lampard Statutory Inquiry began public hearings in September 2024. The Department will await the findings of the Inquiry and will consider its recommendations once submitted by the Chair. In the meantime, we are working with NHS England to understand the factors driving poor quality and safety in inpatient and community mental health settings to ensure patients are treated with …

Lampard Inquiry Update

Written Ministerial Statement House of Lords Lord Markham · Conservative

Statement: My Rt. Hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care (Victoria Atkins MP) made the following Written Statement:I am today updating Parliament that the Terms of Reference for the Lampard Inquiry have been finalised and were published on 10 April on gov.uk: …

Lampard Inquiry Update

Written Ministerial Statement House of Commons Victoria Atkins · Conservative

Statement: I am today updating Parliament that the Terms of Reference for the Lampard Inquiry have been finalised and were published on 10 April on gov.uk: Lampard Inquiry: terms of reference - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk). A copy of a letter to the Chair of the Health and …

Lampard Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Priti Patel · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what recent progress has been made on the Lampard Inquiry into mental health services in Essex.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: Baroness Lampard, the Chair of the Inquiry, undertook a consultation on proposed amendments to the terms of reference for the inquiry in November 2023. Through this consultation, families and other stakeholders had the opportunity to outline their views on the proposed terms of reference. The Chair has submitted her proposed terms of reference for the statutory inquiry, and my Rt …

Lampard Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Dr Rosena Allin-Khan · Labour

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, if she will make an assessment of the potential merits of providing funding for the legal teams of the families involved in the Essex mental health independent inquiry.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: The Department announced on 28 June 2023 that the Essex Mental Health Inquiry was converted to a statutory inquiry under the Inquiries Act 2005. This is now known as the Lampard Inquiry. This is an independent inquiry and the decision to make payment of any legal fees for work on the statutory inquiry is a matter for the Chair, Baroness …

Lampard Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Dr Rosena Allin-Khan · Labour

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, whether she plans to meet families involved in the Essex mental health independent inquiry to discuss the terms of reference for that inquiry.

Answered by Department of Health and Social Care: The Department announced on 28 June 2023 that the Essex Mental Health Inquiry was converted to a statutory inquiry under the Inquiries Act 2005. This is now known as the Lampard Inquiry. This is an independent inquiry and the decision to make payment of any legal fees for work on the statutory inquiry is a matter for the Chair, Baroness …

View all 9 mentions →

Key facts

Duration (ongoing): 2 years, 11 months Latest period’s cost: £7.6m