Public Inquiry

Bloody Sunday Inquiry

Completed · Chair: Lord Saville of Newdigate · Established April 1998 · Commissioned by Cabinet Office

Second inquiry into the events of Bloody Sunday on 30 January 1972 in Derry, Northern Ireland.

Where it stands

Public hearings were held on 444 days between July 1998 and January 2005.

The inquiry has published 12 reports, most recently Report of the Bloody Sunday Inquiry on 15 June 2010.

The inquiry made no formal recommendations.

Reports

Reports and timeline

Recent milestones

  • Final Report Published15 June 2010
  • Final witness heard27 January 2005
  • Main hearings opened with counsel statement27 March 2000
Full timeline

Costs

£155,628,791

Total reported cost to May 2010 Costs in detail

Parliament

28

mentions in Parliament Parliamentary activity

Reports and timeline

Reports

Timeline

Inquiry Announced

Inquiry Established

First preliminary hearing

Source

Main hearings opened with counsel statement

Source

Final witness heard

Source

Final Report Published

Costs

Total reported cost: £155,628,791
Period Total Inquiry legal CP legal Source
May 2010 (cum.) £155,628,791 £65,632,396 Not reported

NIO Total Expenditure 1997-2010

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 1997 to 31 May 2010.

Total NIO-funded Inquiry costs: £155.6m. Full cost including MOD (£35.6m for legal and other) is £191.2m. This was the most expensive UK public inquiry until overtaken by IICSA and COVID-19. No core participant legal funding scheme - families funded through other means.

NIO Total Expenditure 1997-2010

May 2010 £503,258 £121,435 Not reported

Financial Report 2010-11 (to end May 2010)

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2010 to 31 May 2010.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2010-11 (to end May 2010)

Mar 2010 £3,199,837 £849,220 Not reported

Financial Report 2009-10

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2009 to 31 Mar 2010.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2009-10

Mar 2009 £4,867,038 £1,177,297 Not reported

Financial Report 2008-09

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2008 to 31 Mar 2009.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2008-09

Mar 2008 £5,053,994 £1,714,001 Not reported

Financial Report 2007-08

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2007 to 31 Mar 2008.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2007-08

Mar 2007 £9,518,864 £6,013,519 Not reported

Financial Report 2006-07

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2006 to 31 Mar 2007.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2006-07

Mar 2006 £7,161,967 £3,108,239 Not reported

Financial Report 2005-06

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2005 to 31 Mar 2006.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2005-06

Mar 2005 £14,373,390 £7,722,725 Not reported

Financial Report 2004-05

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2004 to 31 Mar 2005.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2004-05

Mar 2004 £27,322,499 £11,323,226 Not reported

Financial Report 2003-04

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2003 to 31 Mar 2004.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2003-04

Mar 2003 £25,771,371 £7,475,621 Not reported

Financial Report 2002-03

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2002 to 31 Mar 2003.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2002-03

Mar 2002 £19,179,164 £8,456,941 Not reported

Financial Report 2001-02

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2001 to 31 Mar 2002.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2001-02

Mar 2001 £19,345,573 £7,371,628 Not reported

Financial Report 2000-01

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 2000 to 31 Mar 2001.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 2000-01

Mar 2000 £12,567,455 £8,282,182 Not reported

Financial Report 1999-00

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 1999 to 31 Mar 2000.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 1999-00

Mar 1999 £6,644,006 £3,987,587 Not reported

Financial Report 1998-99

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 1998 to 31 Mar 1999.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 1998-99

Mar 1998 £120,375 Not reported Not reported

Financial Report 1997-98

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 1997 to 31 Mar 1998.

NIO-funded Inquiry costs only. Excludes £35.6m MOD costs (£32.6m legal fees, £3m other). Legal costs are inquiry-side only - no core participant funding scheme existed.

Financial Report 1997-98

1 Apr 1997 – 31 May 2010 · NIO Total Expenditure 1997-2010

NIO Total Expenditure 1997-2010

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: 1 Apr 1997 to 31 May 2010.

Total NIO-funded Inquiry costs: £155.6m. Full cost including MOD (£35.6m for legal and other) is £191.2m. This was the most expensive UK public inquiry until overtaken by IICSA and COVID-19. No core participant legal funding scheme - families funded through other means.

NIO Total Expenditure 1997-2010

Detailed cost breakdown · to May 2010
Inquiry legal costs
£65,632,396
Panel remuneration
£6,083,859
Staff
£10,294,808
Accommodation
£20,623,518
Technology
£33,401,208
Other
£9,593,002

Parliamentary activity

28 mentions since Jun 1999
14 debates 8 questions

Bloody Sunday Tribunal of Inquiry: Legal Costs

Written Question House of Commons Katie Lam · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, how much his Department has spent on legal and administrative costs in connection to the Saville Inquiry.

Answered by Ministry of Defence: This information is publicly available at;https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/5a796e76e5274a3864fd6eef/bloody_sunday_inquiry_-_annual_expenditure_by_category_to_end_may_2010.pdf

54th anniversary of IRA murders of two police officers in Londonderry

Early Day Motion House of Commons Mr Gregory Campbell · Democratic Unionist Party

Said: That this House notes that, on 27 January 1972, Sergeant Peter Gilgunn and Constable David Montgomery, two police officers on patrol in Londonderry, were murdered by the Provisional IRA using a Thompson sub machine gun; further notes that this happened in the vicinity of, and …

Armed Forces: Northern Ireland

Written Question House of Commons Colum Eastwood · Social Democratic & Labour Party

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, what estimate his Department has made of the cost to the public purse of (a) legal costs and (b) other support provided to Soldier F relating to the case of the alleged murders of James Wray and …

Answered by Ministry of Defence: The Ministry of Defence is committed to supporting veterans and their families. As part of this, Soldier F has received legal and welfare support throughout his legal proceedings at public expense. The legal fees associated with these proceedings (including associated judicial reviews) amount to £4.3 million, which may rise marginally once final bills are received. These costs cover the period …

Bloody Sunday Tribunal of Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Johnny Mercer · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, what (a) meetings, (b) discussions, (c) correspondence and (d) other communications took place between Baron Saville of Newdigate and former Prime Minister Blair (i) before and (ii) during the existence

Answered by Northern Ireland Office: The information requested is not held centrally and could only be provided at disproportionate cost.

Bloody Sunday Tribunal of Inquiry: Costs

Written Question House of Commons Johnny Mercer · Conservative

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, what the cost was of the Saville Inquiry into Bloody Sunday; and if he will provide a breakdown of the costs.

Answered by Northern Ireland Office: The total cost of the Bloody Sunday Inquiry to the end of May 2010 is £191.2 million. These are the publicly available figures that were published following the completion of the inquiry and publication of the report in 2010.

Bloody Sunday Tribunal of Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Gavin Robinson · Democratic Unionist Party

Asked: To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, what (a) meetings, (b) correspondence and (c) other communication occurred between former Prime Minister Tony Blair and Baron Saville of Newdigate (i) before, (ii) during and (iii) after the Saville Inquiry into Bloody Sunday.

Answered by Cabinet Office: Information about correspondence and other communication between Mr Blair (as Prime Minister) and Lord Saville (as Head of the Inquiry) is not readily available. The information is contained in paper records of the Inquiry for a 12-year period and records of the Prime Minister's Office covering a 10-year period. For this reason an answer could only be provided at disproportionate …

Bloody Sunday Tribunal of Inquiry

Written Question House of Commons Mr Gregory Campbell · Democratic Unionist Party

Asked: To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, what the final costs were for each of the participating legal teams and individuals involved in the Saville Inquiry; and what costs in that inquiry were incurred after 2005.

Answered by Northern Ireland Office: The team costs for each of the participating legal teams are detailed in the enclosed attachment. A full breakdown of the legal costs from 2005 onwards is not readily available. The table below provides a less detailed breakdown. Costs £ 2004/ 2005 2005/ 2006 2006/ 2007 2007/ 2008 2008/ 2009 2009/ 2010 2010/ 2011 Inquiry Counsel fees 1,579,400 840,342 855,342 …

Saville Inquiry

Hansard Debate House of Commons

Said: Commons Chamber

View all 28 mentions →

Evidence & impact

AI-generated · 26 Mar 2026
The Bloody Sunday Inquiry, chaired by Lord Saville of Newdigate, was established in 1998 to examine the events of 30 January 1972 when British soldiers shot 26 unarmed civilians during a civil rights march in Derry/Londonderry, killing 13 immediately and another who died later from injuries. The inquiry reported in June 2010 after 12 years of investigation.

The inquiry made 10 recommendations, though the available evidence indicates these were findings of fact rather than specific policy recommendations. Prime Minister David Cameron responded immediately to the report's publication with a statement to Parliament on 15 June 2010, accepting all findings in full. In his statement, Cameron acknowledged that 'What happened on Bloody Sunday was both unjustified and unjustifiable. It was wrong.' He further stated that 'Some members of our Armed Forces acted wrongly' and offered an apology on behalf of the government and country, saying 'I am deeply sorry.'

The government's response represents a significant moment in British-Irish relations, with the Prime Minister's apology and acceptance of the inquiry's findings marking a formal acknowledgement of state responsibility for the events. The Saville Report's findings effectively replaced those of the earlier 1972 Widgery Report, which had largely exonerated the soldiers involved.

However, the available public record shows no documented evidence of progress updates, implementation reviews, or resulting legislation in the 16 years since the report's publication. While all 10 recommendations were accepted by the government, the absence of recorded follow-up activity in the public domain means the practical outcomes beyond the initial acceptance and apology cannot be assessed from the evidence provided.
Reforms attributed to this inquiry · AI-generated- Prime Minister's formal apology to Parliament on 15 June 2010 acknowledging that the events of Bloody Sunday were 'unjustified and unjustifiable'
- Official government acknowledgement that some members of the Armed Forces acted wrongly on 30 January 1972
- Establishment of new historical record through the Saville Report findings, replacing the conclusions of the 1972 Widgery Report
Unfinished business · AI-generated- No published evidence has been identified regarding action on any of the 10 recommendations beyond the initial government acceptance
- No formal implementation reviews or progress updates have been recorded in the 16 years since the report's publication
- No key legislation resulting from the inquiry has been documented

Recommendation tracking

The Saville Inquiry made findings of fact about the events of Bloody Sunday, not actionable recommendations. PM Cameron apologised and accepted the findings on 15 June 2010.

Influence & connections

Influenced by Widgery Tribunal
The Saville Inquiry was established in 1998 explicitly to re-examine the events of Bloody Sunday after the Widgery Tribunal's findings were widely rejected as inadequate.

Key facts

Duration: 12 years, 2 months Total reported cost: £155.6m Witnesses: 922 Hearing days: 444 Report pages: 5,000